SEJC Winners

Wildcats Media/Debate win awards

Louisiana Christian University convergence media students participated in the 2020 Southeast Journalism Conference held Feb. 13-15 at the University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg, Mississippi.

This year nearly 300 students from 31 colleges and universities across the Southeast participated in 15 on-site competitions and heard from Pulitzer-prize winning photojournalist Ted Jackson and Cathy Straight, executive editor for CNN Digital, in a three-day conference.

In addition to the onsite competition, SEJC recognizes work collegiate journalists have done over the previous year, ranking the best work as Best of the South.

Louisiana Christian University student winners include:

  • Best of the South:
    Alena Noakes          9th place, College Journalist of the Year
    Joel Thompson        3rd place, Opinion-Editorial Writer
    Aaron Quartemont   2nd place, Hard News Radio Reporter
  • On-site competition:
    Jerry Clark              2nd place, Radio News Reporting

The Wildcat Debate team competed in the 12th Annual Eddy Shell Invitational at Bossier Parish Community College Feb. 14-16.

Trinity Baugh was awarded second-place speaker and advanced to the finals in novice debate, losing in a split decision. Sixty competitors debated in the novice category, the largest in tournament history.

“To say that I am proud of our debate team is an understatement,” said debate coach Brian Manuel. “The results speak volumes of the quality students we have at Louisiana Christian University”

In the Individual Events, LCU’s Macy Dammen placed third in prose.  This was Dammen’s third appearance in the IE competition.

Wildcat Debate will next compete in the IPDA National Competition March 14-17 at Tennessee Tech University.

“Our Vision of Preparing Graduates and Transforming Lives found fruition in these recent competitions,” said Dr. Rick Brewer, president of Louisiana Christian University. “I am proud of these students and the professors who give of themselves to invest in the next generation of leaders.”