Endowed Professorships And Chairs

Endowed Academic Departments and Divisions

Endowed academic departments or divisions are established with a minimum gift of $1,000,000. Earnings from the endowment are used in perpetuity to support and enrich the educational mission of the endowed department or division.

The R. Rife and Carolyn Cole Saunders Division of Nursing

The Dixie Moss Music Department Enrichment Fund

Endowed Chairs

Endowed academic chairs are established with a minimum gift of $500,000. Earnings from the endowment are used in perpetuity to attract and support outstanding professors and the departments in which they teach. Four endowed academic chairs have been established.

The Herman and Norma Walker Chair in Sociology

* The Coughlin-Saunders Foundation Chair in Nursing

Dr. Tomekia Luckett
Dean, School of Nursing

* The C. J. Cavanaugh Chair in Biology

Dr. Wade Warren
Professor of Biology

The Olive Ann Rau Chair in English

Dr. Jeannie Gauthier
Associate Professor of English

Galloway Professorship in Psychology

Mollie Wise
Assistant Professor of Psychology

* Denotes endowed chairs and professorships established in conjunction with the Board of Regents Support Fund (BoRSF). The Support Fund is constitutionally dedicated to promote excellence in higher education, which includes the endowment of chairs and professorships. BoRSF faculty endowment programs are designed to provide matching resources to non-State donations, the earnings from which support the productivity and performance of superior faculty.

Endowed Professorships

Endowed academic professorships are established with a minimum gift of $100,000. Earnings from the endowment are used in perpetuity to assist compensation of deserving professors. The following endowed academic professorships have been established.

* The Bell South Professorship (Liberal Arts)

Dr. Nancy Whitlock
Professor of Spanish

The James C. Bolton Professorship in Management

Dr. Steven Bello
Associate Professor of Economics and Finance

The W. Peterson Carter, Jr. Professorship in Biblical Studies

Dr. Justin Langford
Associate Professor of Missions and Ministries

The John and Dot Colvin Distinguished Visiting Professorship in Religion

The Richard L. Crowell Professorship in Pre-Law

Dr. Christine Reese
Professor of History

* The Carolyn Adams Dawson Professorship in Mathematics

*The Erroll Dawson Distinguished Professorship in Social Work

Dr. Sheri Duffy
Professor of Social Work

*The Lyndon E. Dawson, Sr. Professorship in Religion

Dr. Nicholas Maricle
Assistant Professor of Missions & Ministries

The Donald Duggan Professorship in Religion

The Durham Family Professorship in Business

Mr. Jim Majors
Assistant Professor of Accounting

The John and Allie Fogleman Professorship in Religion

Dr. Dougald McLaurin
Assistant Professor of Missions and Ministries

*The Ray Frye Professorship in Business

Dr. Arthur Mazhambe
Professor of Business

The J. E. Hixson Professorship in English

Dr. Neil Johnston
Professor of English

*The Hogan Family Professorship

*Dr. Henry Robertson
Professor of History

The George F. Kirby Professorship in Chemistry

Dr. David Elliott
Associate Professor of Chemistry

*The Claude Kent Kirkpatrick Professorship in Health and Physical Education

Dr. Sonia Tinsley
Associate Professor of Health & Exercise Science

The Edith Killgore Kirkpatrick Professorship in Music

Barbara Cockerham
Assistant Professor of Music

*The McCormick-Huie Professorship in English/Journalism

Dr. Julie Driessen
Associate Professor of English

The Hubert & Madolene D. Reding Professorship in Business

Mr. David Culp
Associate Professor of Business

The E. O. Wood Professorship in Communication Arts

Dr. Elizabeth Clark
Professor of Communication Studies

The James A. Young Professorship in Religion

Dr. Tylitha Whatley
Professor of Christian Education

*Eugenia Dawson Professorship in Art

Ms. Wang-Ling Chou-Stokes, MFA
Professor of Art

*Claude & Lois Colvin Endowed Professorship in Theatre

Ms. Tabitha Huffman, MFA
Professor of Theatre

*L. P. Dawson Professorship in History

Dr. Scott Pickard
Professor of History