LCU recognizes outstanding students at Honors Convocation

Two faculty recognized with endowed professorships 

Louisiana Christian University held its 61st Annual Honors Convocation Thursday, recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of students in academics and athletics. In addition two faculty were recognized with endowed professorships. 

Student awards are listed below by department:


Central Louisiana Ad Club Scholarship Award Nathaniel Madrid of Alexandria

Grady Harper Scholarship Award Jocelyn Holt, of Salinas, California

Thilo Steinschulte Scholarship Award Sarah Brooks, of Baytown, Maryland


NAIA Student Athlete Award Kae’ron Baker, of Navasota, Texas

Kayla Dauthier, of Jarreau


ACBSP Student Leadership Award Agigail Shields, of Deville

Central Louisiana Chapter of Society of

  Louisiana CPAs Round Robin Interview 

  Scholarship Adam Hair, of Sulphur

Outstanding Graduating Senior in Business

  Administration Adam Hair, of Sulphur

Outstanding Junior in Business Administration Ting Jiang, of Eunice

Salvador Palermo, of Walker

Society of LA CPAs Christopher “Kit” Smith¬†

Memorial Scholarship Ting Jiang, of Eunice

Sr External Major Field Test 2nd Highest Jeff VanHandel, of Pineville

Sr External Major Field Test Highest Adam Hair, of Sulphur


Avis L. Trahan РOutstanding Elementary 

Education Award Allie Campbell, of Dry Creek

Avis L. Trahan РOutstanding Secondary 

Education Award Emma Cox, of La Porte, Texas

Education Achievement Award Kylie Harless, of Pineville

L. E. Beatrice McKenzie May Leah Ardoin, of Pineville

History and Political Science

Outstanding First Year Student Dylan Ashworth, of Woodworth

Michael Monier, of Ville Platte

Outstanding Upper-Class Student in History

and Political Science Shelby Cumpton, of Quitman

Health and Physical Education

Courtney Butler Scholarship Kasey Russell, of Center Point

Outstanding Exercise Science Clinical 

Wellness Major of the Year James Powell, of Rayville

Dylan Romero, of Lafayette

Outstanding Health Promotion Major

of the Year Taylor Doyle, of Pineville

Human Behaivor

Alpha Tau Gamma Omega Cole Award Kayla Dauthier, of Jarreau

Ann McAllister Excellence in Social 

Work Award Lacey Scarborough, of Pineville

Ann McAllister Excellence in Social 

Work Scholarship Angel Jackson, of Esterwood

Social Work Student of the Year Award Tyler Carlin, of Woodworth

The Dr. James Quillin Memorial 

Psychology Student of the Year Yessica Roque, of Columbia

Language and Literature

Ada Osborne Scholarship Lauren Curtis, of Port Allen

Alpha Mu Gamma Outstanding Member Award Lauren Curtis, of Port Allen

Alpha Mu Gamma Outstanding Senior Award Lauren Curtis, of Port Allen

Carson Scholarship in English Breland Morris, of Pineville

Ellander Ridge Scholarship Samantha Ray, of Center Point

English Faculty Scholarship Aven Elliot, of Alexandria

Ivey Gravette Scholarship in English Delaina Doyle, of Hineston

Mary Kate Bailes Freshman Essay Award Madison Clarke, of Alexandria

Mayme Hamlett English Scholarship Bethany Nichols, of Boyce

Media, Communication and Theatre

Convergence Media Senior Leadership Award Kylei Cornelison, of Jena

Ethel Holloman Memorial Journalism 

Scholarship Victoria Watson, of New Iberia

Frank & Helen Bennett Endowed 

Scholarship in Theatre Dustin Morace, of Pineville

Fred Kendrick Memorial Journalism 

Scholarship Joel Thompson, of Lafayette

Media and Communication Outstanding 

Freshman in Production Caleb Cole, of Pineville

Benjamin Cox, of Broussard

Media and Communication Senior Excellence 

Award Darrell Brown, of Baton Rouge

Ortis Journalism Scholarship Brandon Brown, of Greenville, Texas

Oscar Hoffmeyer Endowed Scholarship 

in Journalism Aaron Quartemont, of Bentley

Richard-Burton Endowed Scholarships:

-Communication Studies Phoebe Lim, of Baton Rouge

-Convergence Media Lexi Rachal, of Baton Rouge

-Theatre Colleen Andrews, of Carthage, Texas

Wildcat Debate “And Then Some” Award Shelby Cumpton, of Quitman

Wildcat Debate Top Novice Award Hannah Miller, of Iowa

Missions and Ministries

Christian Studies Award Samantha Austin, of Boyce

Zondervan Greek Award Isaiah Ardoin, of Washington

Zondervan Theology Award Evan Norris, of Deville


Alsup Voice Award Malania White, of Ball

B.B. McKinney Scholarship Award Kyle Dupre, of Houma

Bob Brian Church Music Endowed Scholarship Selena Torres, of Alexandria

Carroll Lowe Scholarship Award Billi Barber, of Slidell

Diane Leigh Ford Memorial Scholarship Sophie Finley, of Crowley

Dixie Sylvest Moss Award Caleb Williams, of Frierson

Edith Kilgore Kirkpatrick Music Scholarship Samantha McCollough, of Oakdale

Gloria Joy Moore Scholarship Cheyenne Blake, of West Monroe

Music Service Award Sarah Kelly, of Morgan City

Pierre Valmont Blanchard Award for 

Vocal Achievement Malania White, of Ball

Richard Hill Endowed Scholarship Peyton Newton, of Alexandria

Robert W Poole Endowed Scholarship A’melia Perkins, of Pineville

Sue McGahey Elgin Endowed Scholarship Caleb Williams, of Frierson

Natural Sciences

Carol Anne O’Quinn Award Jesci Lord, of Bastrop

Hansel B. O’Quinn Award Harrison Bieber, of Dry Prong

J.F. Richie Memorial Award Trinity Foster, of Deville

Jarrell Memorial Award Madison McDowell, of Deville

Outstanding First Year Chemistry Award Ethan Lanford, of Pineville

Rocky Vidrine Memorial Award- Outstanding 

Freshman in Pre-Med Kamryn West, of Ville Platte

The Monroe Hilburn Award Erich Loewer, of Crowley


Courage in Nursing Shaye Tredinich, of Madisonville

Division of Nursing Award Jade Brady, of LaPlace

Jean Livley Leadership Award Vaylon Dubois, of Pollock


Executive Board Former President Terrell Phillips, of Alexandria

Executive Board President Kyaus Washington, of Alexandria

Executive Board Vice-President Andrew Bieber, of Mamou

Donies & Novie Magee Scholarship Award Breland Morris, of Pineville

English professor Julie Driessen received The McCormick-Huie Professorship in English and Journalism and Nicholas Maricle, assistant professor of Missions and Ministries, received the Lyndon E. Dawson, Sr., Professorship in Religion.


Media Advisory | April 14, 2022 | Pineville, Louisiana
Contact: Dr. Elizabeth B. Clarke, Director of University Communications |